HISTORIC locations on the route of a 19th Century waterway will be explored during two free guided walks at the end of March.
Members of the public are invited to join strolls along the original course of the Wey & Arun Canal, including two stretches of the former Guildford to Horsham railway line.
The walks are being run by the Wey & Arun Canal Trust, which is currently increasing its restoration activities on the northern sections of the waterway.
“These are opportunities for people to hear about what we are doing to bring the canal in Surrey back to life, as well as enjoy pleasant and interesting excursions in the countryside,” said Trust Chairman Sally Schupke.
The first walk is on Saturday, March 25th, meeting at 2.15pm in the car park of Shamley Green Church, Church Hill, Shamley Green GU4 0UD.
Led by the Trust’s technical liaison officer, Alan Johnson, it will follow a four-mile circular route to see how the 1865 Guildford to Horsham railway crossed the 1816 canal and explore a newly revealed iron truss bridge.
On Sunday, March 26th, walkers will meet at 2.30pm at the Gunpowder Store, Stonebridge Wharf, on the River Wey at Shalford. With Trust publicity officer Rob Searle, they will explore parts of the canal route down to the former Bramley Wharf, off Station Road in Bramley.
This 1½ mile stroll, taking approximately two hours, will take in the Tannery Lane roving bridge and the sites of the Tannery Lane Lock and the Gosden Aqueduct. It is also an opportunity to explore the trust’s Hunt Nature Park and its viewing platform.
Parking for walkers is available at Broadford Business Park, Shalford GU4 8EP, behind the Parrot Inn on the A248.
Most of the walk routes are not on metalled surfaces, so it will be essential to wear walking boots, stout shoes or trainers.
The events are free, but donations to the Trust will be welcome. Booking is essential, online via www.weyarun.org.uk or by calling 01483 505566, by March 20th.